Join the conversation!

Prevent Breast Cancer

To make a donation either use the button above or, text PBC followed by the amount you wish to donate to 70085

PBC 10
PBC 20
PBC 40

    Media partner

  Event host

The Law Society

Marketing partner


Charity partner

Prevent Breast Cancer

After party sponsor


View the brochure below

MLA Brochure 2021


Winners 2021

Congratulations to all the winners this year. Be sure to look out for next years awards.


Trainee/Paralegal/Apprentice of the Year
Alex Streeter, JMW Solicitors LLP

Solicitor of the Year
Ruth Peters, Olliers Solicitors

Corporate / Commercial Team of the Year
Myerson Solicitors LLP

Crime Team of the Year
Olliers Solicitors

Employment Team of the Year
Brabners LLP

Family Law Team of the Year
Hall Brown Family Law

Litigation Team of the Year
JMW Solicitors LLP

Personal Injury/Clinical Negligence Team of the Year

Private Client Team of the Year
Irwin Mitchell

Property Team of the Year
Myerson Solicitors LLP


Regulatory Team of the Year

Barristers Chambers of the Year
Deans Court Chambers

In House Lawyer of the Year Rachel MacFarlane, Quintet Private Bank

Partner of the Year
Matthew Claughton, Olliers Solicitors

Small Firm of the Year (1-5 partners nationally)
Olliers Solicitors

Medium Firm of the Year (6-20 partners nationally)
Hugh Jones Solicitors

Large Firm of the Year (20+ partners nationally)
Gunnercooke LLP

Business Support Champion
Deborah Jackson of Burton Copeland Solicitors LLP

Lifetime Achievement
Katharine Mellor




Meet the judges

We've selected a panel of highly successful and well respected individuals from the business, legal and academic community across the North West.

Amanda Hedayati

Amanda began her professional life…

Learn more about Amanda Hedayati...

Mike Ode

Mike is a highly skilled Learning…

Learn more about Mike Ode...

Matt Taylor

Matt Taylor is the current President…

Learn more about Matt Taylor...

Jackie Panter

Jackie is Deputy Head of Manchester…

Learn more about Jackie Panter...

Bill Kirby

Professional Choice Consultancy

Learn more about Bill Kirby...

Fran Eccles-Bech

Chief Executive, Manchester Law…

Learn more about Fran Eccles-Bech...

John Hyde

A leading commentator on the legal…

Learn more about John Hyde...

James Akrigg

James is a long-time technology…

Learn more about James Akrigg...

Deborah Walker

Deborah Walker is MIDAS’ Head of…

Learn more about Deborah Walker...

Louis Rosenthal

Founder and Managing Director -…

Learn more about Louis Rosenthal...

Ruth Shearn

Founder, RMS Creative Communications

Learn more about Ruth Shearn...

Rebecca Yates

Head of Law North West - BPP University…

Learn more about Rebecca Yates...

2020 Winners' Gallery

About MLA

Now firmly established on the legal calendar, the Manchester Legal Awards recognise and reward the wide range of skills and talent across our region.

With 22 categories, there is something for everyone to enter. Remember, entry is free, and we welcome nominations from individuals and teams at small, medium and large firms and chambers.

The winners will be announced at our rather special, star-studded, online event on Thursday 17 June 2021.